## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information, contact: Heidi Raphael 615-828-2763 Heidi.raphael@bbgi.com

## The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation Announces 2024 Board of Directors

## Tony Coles, Dr. Caroline Frick, and Leo MacCourtney join the LABF Team

**College Park, Maryland (2/19/24): The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF)** is pleased to announce Tony Coles, Dr. Caroline Frick, and Leo MacCourtney have been elected to the organization's Board of Directors. The announcement was made by Co-chairs Heidi Raphael, Beasley Media Group Chief Communications Officer, and Jack Goodman, former NAB general counsel and longtime DC-based Communications attorney.

**Tony Coles** is President of Multi-Cultural Business and Development and President of BIN: Black Information Network, the first and only 24/7 comprehensive national audio news service dedicated to providing an objective, accurate and trusted source of continual news coverage with a Black voice and perspective.

As President of Multi-Cultural Business and Development, Coles works across all iHeartMedia assets and divisions to support and grow multicultural audiences and to accelerate multicultural revenue growth for the company. This includes connecting Hispanic, Black, AANHPI, and LGBTQIA+ consumers and clients with the unique access iHeartMedia can provide as the largest audio platform to reach multicultural audiences in America.

Prior to his current roles, he served as Metro Markets Group Division President, leading markets including Seattle, Portland, Sacramento, St. Louis, and New Orleans; and as Executive Vice President of Programming for the company's Western US markets from 2016-2020. During his 20 years at iHeartMedia, he has held several leadership roles, including Senior Vice President of Programming for Alaska, Hawaii, and the Pacific Northwest, as well as Operations Manager of the Chicago region.

Coles has more than 35 years' experience in the radio industry, from on-air to programming and management, with a strong record of success and team building. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communications from Marylhurst University, and an MBA from the Western Governors University School of Business. He currently serves as the Vice Chair on the Big Brothers Big Sisters of America board of directors, as well as serving on the board for the National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation, and the Radio Advertising Bureau.

**Dr. Caroline Frick** is an Associate Professor in the Radio-TV-Film Department at The University of Texas at Austin. She also is the founder and Executive Director of the Texas Archive of the Moving Image, an organization devoted to the discovery and preservation of media related to the state.

Prior to her work in Texas, Dr. Frick worked in film preservation at Warner Bros., the Library of Congress, and the National Archives in Washington, D.C. Dr. Frick also programmed films for the American Movie Classics cable channel in New York and served for four years as the President of the Board for the Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA).

She currently serves as the co-chair of the Local Television Task Force for AMIA. Her book, "Saving Cinema," was published by Oxford University Press. She has published in a variety of journals including the *International Journal of Heritage Studies, The Moving Image, The Historical Journal of Film, Radio and Television, and The Journal of Popular Film and Video* 

**Leo MacCourtney** is President of Katz Television Group, the nation's leading television representation company, connecting marketers with local audiences at scale and with local impact.

In his role as President, Leo oversees Katz's strategic sales direction to drive growth for its more than 800 television station partners and their digital extensions across over 196 markets. Under Leo's leadership, the Katz team focuses on strengthening advertiser relationships, advocating for local broadcast television and driving linear and digital TV business development.

Leo's extensive background in media advertising began when he joined WERE radio in Cleveland, Ohio. In 1981, Leo left radio to join Blair Television as an account executive. During his tenure at Blair Television, Leo held various sales management roles, including Team Manager, Division Manager, and Division President. He was promoted to President and CEO of Blair Television in 1998, a position he held for nine years. In 2007, Leo joined Katz Television Group as Vice President of Business Development. He became President of Eagle Television Sales in 2008. In March of 2012, Leo was appointed to his current role as President of the Katz Television Group.

Leo is currently Ex-Officio Chair of International Radio & Television Society Foundation. He also serves on board of the Washington Media Scholars Foundation and is the Vice Chair/Treasurer for the Broadcasters Foundation of America. He is Chair Ex-Officio of the Television Bureau of Advertising where has been a board member since 2005 and has served as its treasurer.

"We are absolutely thrilled to welcome Tony, Caroline, and Leo to the LABF Board of Directors," said Raphael and Goodman. "Their valuable insight experience will help in our mission to preserve, protect and promote radio and television broadcasting's rich incredible history."

**Executive Committee members elected to additional two-year terms** include Heather Birks, Harry Jessell, Kathy Kirby, Jim Morley, Heidi Raphael, and Joyce Tudryn. In addition, Dennis Wharton was approved to join the Committee.

**The following LABF board members were elected to serve new three-year terms: Pierre** Bouvard, Gary Chapman, Mary Collins, Mike Conway, Dave "Chachi" Denes, Erica Farber, Harry Jessell, David Kennedy, Dr. Judy Kuriansky, Brian Philips, Heidi Raphael and Julie Talbott.

**Other current LABF board members include** Heather Birks, Sally Brown, Michael Carter, Mary Collins, April Carty-Sipp, Chandra Clark, John Dille, Jack Goodman, Richard Liebner, Jim Morley, Ginny Hubbard, Deborah Parenti, Larry Patrick, Walter Podrazik, Patricia Smullin, Jeff Smulyan, Dan Spears, John Taylor, Joyce Tudryn, and Dennis Wharton.

## About the LABF:

**The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation** serves the philanthropic arm of the Library of American Broadcasting, the nation's most extensive collection of broadcast history, policy, and tradition, including historical documents, professional papers, oral and video histories, books, scripts and photographs preserved at the University of Maryland.

For more information, please visit <u>www.tvradiolibrary.org</u>.